One of the most serious driving offenses in Arizona is a first offense extreme DUI (ARS §28-1382). This differs from a standard DUI charge as you are found guilty of this offense when your BAC or blood alcohol concentration is found to be anywhere between .150+ and .199. You can be charged with extreme DUI in Arizona as a first offense if you have no prior DUI convictions within the past seven years.
David Cantor explains the penalties for first offense Extreme DUI/DWI in Arizona:
Punishment and penalties for a first extreme DUI/DWI are very serious. You will be forced to serve a minimum of 30 days in jail, even though your extreme DUI in Arizona is a first offense. However, your jail time can be shortened to merely nine days if you opt to have an ignition interlock device placed in your vehicle immediately.
Should you choose the option of the ignition interlock system, you will have to blow into the device each time you are getting behind the wheel of your car to ensure that you are not intoxicated or your vehicle will not operate. If you forgot the device, your jail time for 30 days will cost you $3,500. In addition, you will be required to take 36 hours worth of classes that cost $1,000 as well as screening for substance abuse, which costs an additional $100. You can also expect your driver’s license to be suspended over a time period of three months, which is the minimum amount of time for this punishment. After this time, when you plan on driving, you will again be required to use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and this will cost you $1,500.
On top of all of these penalties and fees, you will also find that your car insurance policy will have to change as you are required to get an SR-22. This type of insurance policy costs $500 per year and will be in place for three consecutive years, which ends up being $1,500 for that duration of time. This is mandatory and your insurance company is required to report to the Department of Motor Vehicles in the event that your insurance lapses.
Due to your first offense extreme DUI, you can expect your car insurance to cost you, at the very least, $3,000 higher per year for the duration of three years, which comes to a total of $9,000.
[button color=red url=https://cantorcriminallawyers.com/contact-us/ target=self]Ready to talk to a DUI Lawyer for free? Click here.[/button]
Here is a review of the fine and penalties you can expect after a conviction of a 1st time Extreme DUI in Arizona:
- 30 days in jail: $3,500
- DUI Fines: approximately $3,000 (amount varies based on local jurisdiction fees)
- Requirement to install an ignition interlock system: $1,500
- Alcohol Screening: $100
- Up to 36 hours of alcohol education classes: $1,000
- SR-22 Policy $500 per year: $1,500
- Increase Car Insurance Premiums $3,000 per year: $9,000
If you choose to drive legally after your conviction you can expect a financial impact of close to $19,600.
If you are convicted of this crime, it is very important to get an attorney who is skilled in the area of DUI. DM Cantor offers free case consultations; please call us today at (602) 737-2812 to schedule a meeting with a defense lawyer. You can also send us an email via our confidential web form.