Watch this short video about the consequences for a 1st Offense Felony Aggravated DUI/DWI in Arizona:
Aggravated DUI/DWI in Arizona
In Arizona, DUI charges can range from a simple misdemeanor to a serious felony that faces multiple penalties. Under state law, a driver’s charges may be escalated to a felony aggravated DUI/DWI when one of the following three situations apply:
- Third DUI offense within seven years
- Adult driving under the influence without a valid driver’s license
- Adult driving under the influence with minor passengers under the age of 16
Although it may be easy for a person to believe they would not be charged with a first time aggravated DUI, it is important to remember that many people overlook court dates during which their license may be revoked. For many people, it is only after they receive a felony DUI charge that they discover they have been driving with a suspended license.
Penalties for Aggravated DUI in Arizona
Arizona is known for the strict consequences drivers face when they are convicted of a felony aggravated DUI. Among these penalties, there is a mandatory sentence for all drivers convicted of first offense aggravated DUI charges to serve a minimum of four months jail time. While this sentence is enough to cause a person to lose their home, job and even family, it is also important to understand that you will lose other important rights as well. If you hold a professional license as a physician, lawyer, nurse or other state-recognized position, this will be revoked. The state of Arizona may also strip away your rights to own a gun or vote in an election.
After the mandatory jail time has been served, the penalties for a first time felony aggravated DUI will continue. Drivers facing these charges must then undergo substance abuse screening ($50) and attend at least 36 hours of substance abuse classes ($585). A driver will also lose their license for a minimum of three years, then will be required to install and use an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for at least two more years while covering the expenses for the monitoring system. In addition to the hassle incurred by having to blow into the device every 15 minutes just to keep the motor running, drivers will also be required to pay approximately $2,400 over two years to maintain the system on their car.
The additional costs of having an aggravated DUI on a person’s driving record only continue once insurance is considered. Drivers with a felony DUI will be required to obtain a SR-22 policy at a cost of $500 per year for 3 years ($1,500) that must be paid to the insurance company so they will notify the DMV if a person’s insurance experiences a lapse. Not only do you have to maintain an SR-22 for 3 years, you will also be faced with a rise in insurance premiums, approximately $3,000 a year for 3 years ($9,000).
When added up, here are the costs of an Aggravated DUI in Arizona:
- 4 Months in Prison
- Substance Abuse Screening & 36 Classes: $50 + $585: $645
- Ignition Interlock Device $1,000 – $1,200 per year: 2 years $2,000 – $2,400
- SR-22 $500 per year: 3 years $1,500
- Increase in Car Insurance Premiums $3,000 per year for 3 years: $9,000
Total Costs after 4 months in Prison and 3 years license revocation: $13,545
When added up, the costs for a first time felony aggravated DUI can come close to $14,000 while imposing strict penalties that can wreak havoc on a person’s professional and social standing.
If you are facing these charges, then it is important for you to contact our offices and find out how we can help you get your Felony DUI charges reduced or possible dismissed altogether. In many instances, we can find flaws in your case that may be used to help reduce your charges to a first offense with fewer penalties or even have your case dismissed. Whether it is you or a loved one charged with an aggravated DUI, you can contact us at (602) 307-0808 or use our confidential online form so we can schedule a Free Case Review for you today.