Extreme levels of drinking and driving are on the rise in the United States. In the State of Arizona specifically, there is what is known as Super Extreme DUI/DWI charge. This refers to a DUI offense in which the individual has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.20 or greater when they are found behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. The penalties for a Super Extreme DUI/DWI, if you are convicted, are generally greater than those for individuals who are found guilty of a standard DUI. It is worth exploring these penalties in detail to gain a greater understanding of what to expect if you find yourself in such a situation.
Here’s a short video on what happens if you are convicted of a First Offense Super Extreme DUI/DWI in Arizona:
For a first offense Super Extreme DUI, which means you have NO prior DUI convictions within the past seven years, you will face a minimum mandatory sentence of 45 days served in jail. In addition to jail time, you will have to pay back jail costs that start at a minimum of $4,900, plus additional fines and surcharges of $3,300 at a minimum. On top of that, with your first Super Extreme DUI, you will also be expected to pay $100 for screening for substance abuse and $1,000 for alcohol abuse classes, which generally last for 36 sessions.
After your conviction of Super Extreme DUI, you will not be allowed to drive during the first three months as your license will be suspended for this time. Once you get your license back, if you choose to drive legally, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device placed on your car for a duration of 18 months. This can cost as much as $1,500 or more. The ignition interlock device works by you performing a breath test each time you enter your car to start it to drive, and you must repeat this process every 15 minutes if you are traveling for longer than 15 minutes.
[button color=red url=https://cantorcriminallawyers.com/contact-us/ target=self]Want to speak with a DUI lawyer? Click here to schedule.[/button]
In addition to the penalties and jail time, you will also have to get an SR22 auto insurance policy. This is a requirement for individuals with DUI convictions in the state of Arizona. It requires you to pay $500 in fees each year for three consecutive years ($1,500) so that the insurance company can alert the DMV if you cease your insurance coverage. Your auto insurance expenses can thereafter increase to a minimum of $3,000 for each year for the following three years ($9,000) as a result of your first offense Super Extreme Misdemeanor DUI.
Punishments for a First Super Extreme DUI/DWI in Arizona:
- 45 Days in Jail: $4,900
- Additional Fees: approximately $3,300 (amount varies based on local jurisdiction fees)
- Substance Abuse Screening: $100
- 36 Alcohol Abuse Classes: $1,000
- Ignition Interlock Device: $1,500
- SR-22 Insurance $500 per year for 3 years: $1,500
- Increased Auto Insurance Rates $3,000 per year 3 years: $9,000
Breaking down all of these expenses, you will want to avoid being guilty of this very serious offense as they can reach more than $21,300 in fees and penalties. However, even if you choose not to drive or own a car after a conviction, you will still owe nearly $9,300 as a result of your offense.
If you are facing a first time Super Extreme DUI in Arizona, please call us at (602) 737-2812 for a Free Case Review. Our offices are available 24 hours a day by phone or via our secure email form. Our DUI Defense Lawyers have many, many years of experience with DUI cases in Arizona and we’ll be happy to sit down with you for about 30 minutes in our office to discuss your case. We hope to hear from you soon.