In Mesa, AZ, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges carry stiff penalties for those who are convicted. In addition to jail time and probation, even first-time offenders will be required to comply with court orders that include the payment of a heavy fine and other associated service fees. Due to the multi-layered approach the State of Arizona takes when punishing DUI charges, it is essential for a person to have a Mesa DUI lawyer at their side from the moment the charges are filed.
Over the past twenty years, Arizona has increased the penalties for DUIs to discourage unsafe driving practices that were occurring at an increasing rate. Although state statutes include mandatory sentences that must be handed down by the court, a DUI lawyer in Mesa will help by creating a strong defense that can minimize the damage that a DUI conviction can do to a person’s professional and personal reputation.
To be charged with a DUI, a person’s blood alcohol content must be at .08 percent or higher. If it is less, then a person will be charged with reckless driving. According to the State of Arizona, anyone who is convicted of a DUI must complete an alcohol-related driver’s education course to have nine of the ten days mandatory jail sentence suspended. Failure to do so will result in a person serving the entire sentence. It is important to note, however, that every case is different. For example, excessive alcohol levels may result in longer jail sentences. For this reason, a Mesa DUI Lawyer can help ensure a defendant receives an acceptable penalty while negotiating for as much suspension of a person’s jail sentence as possible.
If you are facing DUI charges in Mesa, you can call us 24-hours a day at (602)307-0808 or click here to fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation.
Mesa DUI Court Details
When you are arrested for a DUI in Mesa, AZ, you will be taken to one of seven police stations; however, you will ultimately end up at the Mesa Municipal Court located at 250 E. 1st Avenue. The court hours are from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm, Monday through Friday with the exception of holidays. Free parking is available in the parking garage and on the street outside of the courthouse.
On your court dates, it is important to arrive on time and dressed appropriately. Your case will be heard by one of several judges. These include Judge Robin Allen, who has held the position the longest and tends to be strict on defendants who arrive without representation, Judge Valerye Boyer-Wells and Judge Michelle Lue Sang . Your case may also be heard by the remaining judges who are Judge Karl Eppich, Judge Elizabeth Arriola and Judge Victor Ortiz.
Anyone who has been charged with a DUI will benefit from representation by an experienced Mesa DUI attorney who is familiar with the Mesa City Court judges. For first-offenders and those with a borderline BAC, this is especially important because the initial judgment will set the tone for any future court proceedings.
Do you have 30 minutes to have one of our Mesa DUI Lawyers review your case? Contact DM Cantor at 602-307-0808 or you can fill out our online form for a confidential and free consultation today.
How useful was this article?
Click on a star to rate it!
/ 5. Vote count:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Thanks for your feedback!