One of the most grave driving offenses in the State of Arizona is a third offense felony Aggravated DUI/DWI. This type of DUI is a felony and can be placed upon a person if they have at least two prior felony convictions that may not necessarily include DUI. In other words, a felony conviction that involves marijuana possession or theft can lead to being charged with third offense felony DUI/DWI.
Watch this video about the penalties for a 3rd Offense Felony Aggravated DUI/DWI in Arizona:
If you are found guilty of a 3rd time Felony Aggravated DUI you will be facing very severe punishments. A PRISON sentence of at least six years will be instituted in the State of Arizona for a third offense DUI. However, in spite of this requirement, many individuals who are convicted of this crime end up in prison for even longer at 10 to 15 years. As a result of this punishment, you can expect to miss certain important things that occur in life, such as family events that include loss of home and not being around to watch your kids grow up. Not surprisingly, the individual can also expect to lose his or her driver’s license.
It is possible to have charges for a third offense felony DUI/DWI reduced under a couple of circumstances. If you hire DM Cantor for your case, we will attack the previous DUI convictions. We look for the presence of certain things such as the attorney-client waiver form between the lawyer and the client and another is to make see if paperwork or fingerprint information is missing, even if the person has previously been convicted of a felony. When this situation occurs, the prison sentence is much shorter due to the fact that the charge may be reduced to a first time aggravated DUI, in which a four month sentence is put into place. Of course, you will also have to have an ignition interlock system placed in your vehicle and may lose certain basic rights, including the right to vote or own a gun.
It is important to remember that a charge of a third Aggravated DUI is considered extremely serious in the State of Arizona. Keeping that in mind, you will have to seek the help of an attorney who is skilled in these types of offenses or face the worst consequences. A lawyer who is experienced in defending individuals who are charged with a third time felony aggravated DUI can greatly help in terms of having your prison sentence reduced or prior convictions thrown out so that you will not have to face the mandatory minimum of six years.
If you are facing a 3rd time felony Aggravated DUI in Arizona, please give us a call, we can help. We offer Free DUI Case Consultations and can be reached 24 hours a day by calling (602) 307-0808 or by using our confidential email form.
How useful was this article?
Click on a star to rate it!
/ 5. Vote count:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Thanks for your feedback!